top of page
  • Writer's pictureBruce

Day 9: Las Vegas

Today was going to be a big day. We started the morning with some brunch at the Bellagio. Instead of doing the same buffet, we went to Sadelle’s, a new brunch spot that recently opened. This place was very popular and had a long line out into the Bellagio Conservatory. At least it was a nice place to wait. Bellagio changes their conservatory decor every season, so there’s always something new. For that summer, they went with a lemon theme.

Once we were seated, I had a classic eggs benedict and my girlfriend had this incredible lobster salad.

After breakfast, we went up to the Bellagio spa and got two day passes - a perfect use of the $100 spa credit. There were four different pools of various temperatures, sauna, steam room, as well as heated loungers and day beds to relax on. Of course, I can’t take pictures inside the spa, but there was a balcony that overlooked the pool area.

After some pure bliss and relaxation, we checked out and moved literally next door to the Cosmopolitan. I had a few reasons for doing this. One was double dipping on the Amex FHR perks which reset with every new hotel stay. The rate for the Cosmo that day was also considerably cheaper, and it is overall a much better hotel than Bellagio. Finally, I had something special planned at the Cosmo.

We quickly checked in at the Cosmo in their Autograph Lounge, bypassing the long lines. We did a lot of waiting in lines at the Bellagio because I did not hold any MGM status. Alternatively, Cosmo is part of Marriott’s Autograph Collection, and thus recognizes my Marriott Platinum status. I was also able to combine this with the usual Amex FHR perks for some great deals. We were upgraded to the 1-bedroom terrace suite in the Chelsea Tower. This was a very nice suite, with a separate living room and a retractable wall to the bedroom. The bathroom was very spacious and included a deep soaking Japanese tub. Finally, the best part about Cosmo rooms is the large terrace with great views of the Las Vegas strip.

After settling in, we headed over to Caesars Palace for an early dinner. Since I status matched to Caesar’s Diamond status, I get a $100 credit to use at any of their restaurants. I decided to go for their famous Bacchanal Buffet, the most expensive (excluding the Sterling Brunch) but arguably the best buffet in Las Vegas. This buffet definitely had the largest selection I’ve ever seen. The dishes were mostly individually plated - similar to Wicked Spoon, and were generally all pretty high quality. I really enjoyed the oyster and lobster bar. The bone marrow was also a highlight, as well as an excellent array of desserts. We have both been to a lot of buffets in Las Vegas, but agreed that this was the best one. Now, whether it is worth the significant extra cost over a comparable option like Wicked Spoon is debatable - but definitely a good use for the Caesars Diamond credit.

After this feast, we made our way over to the MGM Grand to watch KA by Cirque du Soleil. This was an incredible show in a massive theatre with a set that stretched into the audience.

KA is a marital art themed show, one of many Cirque du Soleil options in Las Vegas. The stunts were jaw dropping and the story was interesting as well. We have previously seen O and Le Reve, and I would say this show definitely stacks up, although it is very different. Those water-based shows are more visually beautiful, but KA is more action packed. At the very end of the show, however, there were some technical difficulties, so the performers couldn’t come out for the final bow.

After the show, I noticed I received a missed call and some emails. Behind the scenes, I was planning to propose to my girlfriend back inside our room at the Cosmo later that night. While we were at the show, the hotel was supposed to decorate the room with rose pedals and tea lights. However, by force of habit, my girlfriend left the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door so they could not legally enter without our consent. Since we were at the show, they weren’t able to reach me either. Of course, my girlfriend had no idea about all this as we were walking back to the hotel. I even pretended to go to the washroom to make a call to the concierge and ask them to try again - but was put on hold. Also, I didn’t think I could stall enough time to reach them and have them set up the room without seeming suspicious. Ultimately, I decided to scrap it and head back to the hotel. Prior to leaving for Caesar’s Palace, I actually had the ring in my pocket the whole time so I would be ready as soon as we got in the room. Since there was no surprise in the room, I waited for a while. We were sitting on the couch watching TV, as I looked for the right moment. Finally, during a commercial break, I turned off the TV, told her I had something to say, led her to the area behind the couch. I got down on one knee, asked her to marry me, and she said yes!

What an amazing day. While it didn’t go exactly according to plan, it still ended up really well. We are engaged!

bottom of page